Adult Moc3 RunAmoc - Black

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Adult Moc3 RunAmoc - Black

Rating
26 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Prices starting at $105.00

Description

Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Perfect slip onReview by Jane
Rating
These were a little roomy for me. So I ordered a pair of the sheepskin innersoles, and now they are just right. So nice to have an easy slip on shoe. They are super comfortable all around! (Posted on 9/29/14)
The Ultimate Barefoot Shoe if ...Review by Sufficient Distance
Rating
This shoe could be the ultimate barefoot running shoe if the wearer does not mind gluing them back together on a weekly basis. I was able to get about three months of consistent running on these shoes before the bottom surface started to disbond. So my Sunday evenings have become my re-glue days. I have found that German made adhesive from Continental (originally used to adhere tubular tires to bicycle rims)works well for this purpose.

Note from Soft Star Shoes: We are sorry to hear this - please give our friendly customer service elves a ring a this sounds like a warranty issue we can help you with. (Posted on 6/16/14)
For people who don't like shoesReview by Bloom
Rating
I used to despise wearing shoes, but these allow my feet to feel very natural and free. I've done many miles in Vibram five fingers and Merrell road gloves, but love that I can slip these on and off in two seconds. I feel more connected to the ground, and the Earth overall, in these shoes. I was hesitant to buy them because of the leather factor. After careful consideration, I chose to go with this shoe because they're made as greenly as possible by Elves who are well cared for. I also love that they're made in the U.S. and the customer service is outstanding. (Posted on 2/14/14)
Best Running Shoe Design in Human HistoryReview by Euthyphro
Rating
Over the past 4 years, I've tested nearly every minimal running shoe/sandal on the market. These are the best.

They allow me to go on long runs, at fast or slow speeds, in all sorts of terrain---with no sign of wear and tear on my body. They are lightweight and there is little friction or sliding upon landing.

They are the closest thing on the market to going completely barefoot, but they provide protection to the skin without causing blisters.

They constitute a truly important contribution to human culture---to our ability to thrive and to understand, first hand, the essence of movement. (Posted on 2/10/14)
they warm my heart and soleReview by Mosbey
Rating
I got these after tiring of the inevitable frequent and ultimately useless laundering of five finger shoes. I do enjoy watching my toes get froggy, but that smell is not great. The RunAmocs are a great alternative. Plenty of space for your toes, great ground feel, and they even do well in really cold weather. At first I was a bit skeptical about the look-- if a person was a nurse and a leather fetishist these would be perfect-- but they go with everything. A few months in I experienced technical difficulties and contacted Soft Star. Their response was prompt and fantastic. In fact, their willingness to work with me and assume positive intent is what caused me to come here and leave a review. Five stars for the shoes, five stars for the customer service. Would absolutely buy again and recommend. Super comfy, they stay fresh, and keep your feet, ankles and knees feeling good all day. Yay! (Posted on 2/6/14)
Great for Barefoot Runners in ColdReview by Trail Slider
Rating
Over the past three years, I've been transitioning to minimalist running and finally (this year) to barefoot running. During the spring, summer, and fall in New England, barefoot running is feasible. But once temps drop below, say, 40 degrees, the pavement is cold and the sand (put down for the cars) hurts.

This winter, I've been running in RunAmocs, typically three days a week, 3 to 5 miles at a time. Even though I don't wear socks, they work great to protect my feet from the cold and ouchies, despite single-digit temps. And yet they still offer some ground feel and don't smell at all (unlike my VFFs which smell after a couple of uses). I'm a big fan of RunAmocs! (Posted on 2/3/14)
Made the soles of my feet hurtReview by Runner/hiker/walker
Rating
I tried these shoes because I like everything about them in concept, but they made the soles of my feet hurt. I kept them for walking, but it still hurt. The bottom of my feet felt raw in a way that they never do while truly barefoot. I recently gave these shoes away. I do, however, wear the original RunAmoc daily. (Posted on 11/21/13)
Fantastic productReview by Footloose
Rating
I am a UK lifestyle barefooter. I got my moc3s several months ago for use in gyms and circuit training. They give me almost as much ground feel and balance as being barefoot. Well made and comfortable. Fast shipping to UK too! (Posted on 3/18/13)
1 year, tough to beatReview by Eric th'dread
Rating
I love my bare feet but I also love to run rough trails. Here in northern New Jersey I have some very rocky hills to run through, and these mocs are great to supply minimal protection and maximum feel. I have run in the Vibram 5fingers KSO Trek previously (for 2yrs) but after cracking my unprotected pinky toe for the 3rd time I went for the closed moc. These feel great, very light and nimble, and I started wearing them on the streets as well. After 1 year they have begun tearing in front but I really never expected them to last this long.
One modification-- I added a leather lace to keep the fit more snug under the ankle. (Posted on 2/24/13)
Gets the barefoot runner through the winterReview by John
Rating
Late last summer I started the process of weaning my feet off their comfy Nike Pegasus pillow-shoes. My goal was to gradually change my running form so that I could run consistently in minimal shoes. I got a pair of Altra Instincts (which I really like), and started alternating them with the Nikes. I did some barefoot running drills to improve my form, and then a bit more, and gradually I realized that barefoot running was more comfortable and enjoyable, so that became my goal. That was in mid November, brilliantly timed to coincide with the looming winter solstice. I've run up to a mile in 30F weather barefoot, but it's not so fun when you can't feel your feet. I got the RunAmoc3 in late November, and it's become my go-to running shoe. They seem to run a bit small, so I had to go with a 13 (I wear a 12 Nike Pegasus and 12.5 Altra Instinct). I wear them with socks when it's below 25F and they keep my feet plenty warm. I've tried huaraches, but I find the RunAmocs are more comfortable and have a thinner sole that provides better feedback from the ground. They look a bit like Darth Vader's bedroom slippers, but don't let that stop you from getting a pair--they feel awesome when you're running. They slip on easily, they pack as flat as a pair of socks for travel, and they have reflector bands on the heels so you won't get run over when running in the frigid pre-dawn--which is important because you'll want to run in the dark cold pre-dawn days of late winter with these shoes. If you're new to minimalist running, ease into RunAmocs gradually--it's taken me several months to get to the point of running four miles a day in them, and that included several weeks of rotating them with my Altras. But it's totally worth it, and these are the best thing going next to going barefoot. (Posted on 2/10/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Sizing Tips

Please use table below to best find your corresponding size. For best results, rely on your standard US shoe size. We find this to be the best place to start for adults and generally the most reliable method.

Wide/Narrow: Trouble deciding your width? Our best recommendation is to order a wide or narrow only if you have found you need those custom widths in other brands for your feet to be comfortable. If you have never found you needed wide or narrow shoes before then we suggest sticking with our regular width.

Style notes:

If you find yourself between two shoe sizes, we recommend ordering the larger size. This is especially true of our adult Phoenix Boots and Rogue casual shoes, which run a bit small.

Adult Shoe Sizing Chart

For detailed instructions on how to measure your foot, please click here to view our sizing guide.

RunAmoc Comparison

Whether you need it for the trail, street, studio or workplace, we have the perfect RunAmoc for you!

Scroll down to compare shoe styles, sole options and leather:

 

RunAmoc Style Comparison

 

Original

Dash

Moc3

Image

Original RunAmoc Brown Suede

green dash runamoc barefoot running shoe

blue moc3 barefoot running moccasin

Design Based on our moccasin design, but with a durable running sole and a lace around the ankle for secure closure. Our most popular shoe for both running and casual use! Front laces and back pattern provide stylish design and precise fit. A stretchy, slip-on moccasin designed to be as flexible and lightweight as possible. A running sock with the durability of a shoe!
Fit

 

Designed to fit loosely around the foot. Ideal for people who are accustomed to going barefoot and do not prefer a snug-fitting shoe. Spacious toe box allows toes to spread and is favored by people with very wide feet.

Front lacing system allows a snug, adjustable fit around instep. Ideal for people who prefer a fitted shoe with minimal slippage.

Depending on color choices, the Dash can easily pass as a casual, work or dress shoe.

Breathe-O-Prene technology hugs your foot from all sides. Very high level of groundfeel and barefoot-like movement. Can easily be packed into a small bag or tucked under a belt when not in use.

Sizes

Adult Sizes 5U–15U+

Available in Regular, Narrow or Wide widths.

Half sizes available upon request.

Sizing Guide

Adult Sizes 5U–13U

Available in Regular, Narrow, Wide or Wide XL widths.

Half sizes available upon request.

Sizing Guide

Adult Sizes 5U–13U

Available in Regular width only.

Whole sizes only.

Sizing Guide

Weight

5.2–9.2 oz, depending on size, leather type and sole.

Contact us if you would like to know weight for a specific combination of attributes.

5.0–9.5 oz, depending on size, leather type and sole.

Contact us if you would like to know weight for a specific combination of attributes.

4–6 oz, depending on size.

Contact us if you would like to know weight for a specific size,

Sole Options

• 2mm Vibram™ Street Sole

• 5mm Vibram™ Trail Sole

• Tough Leather Sole

• 2mm Vibram™ Street Sole

• 5mm Vibram™ Trail Sole

• Tough Leather Sole

• 2mm Vibram™ Street Sole cut to minimal patterned footbed.

DYO Color Options Suede, smooth (full grain) or LITE (perforated) leather colors. Suede, smooth (full grain) or LITE (perforated) leather colors.

LITE perforated leather colors.

 

RunAmoc Sole Comparison

 

2mm Street

5mm Trail

Bullhide Leather

Images

Street Sole Close UP

Trail Sole Close Up

Leather Sole Close Up

2mm Street Sole Pattern
5mm Trail Sole Pattern
Tough Leather Sole Pattern
Features

 

Very high level of groundfeel. Our thinnest and lightest sole. Minimal space between feet and ground.

High level of groundfeel. Extra thickness adds durability. Tread pattern provides additional traction on rough surfaces.

Our most flexible sole. Slightly thicker than 2mm Street sole with similar durability. Pliable texture provides our highest level of groundfeel and most unrestricted foot movement.

All-natural leather material allows grounding conductivity (see earthing).

Use

Perfect for running on smooth surfaces or for trail runners who have strengthened their feet to tolerate groundfeel of rough surfaces.

Ideal for trail runners and those who want barefoot movement with protection while running over rough surfaces, such as gravel or rocky paths. Also a favorite for street runners who prefer durability over maximum groundfeel.

Recommended for people new to minimalist running shoes.

A favorite for people who prefer to run or walk barefoot. Like the street sole, it is recommended to have feet strengthened for barefoot-style running before using this sole on rough or rocky terrain.

NOTE: this sole can become very slippery on smooth, wet surfaces.

Price No additional cost. No additional cost.
+$12

 

 

 

Leather Material Comparison

 

Suede

Smooth
(full grain)

LITE (perforated)

Image

Soft Star Suede Leather

Soft Star Smooth Leather

Soft Star LITE Leather

Look and Feel Soft and cozy. Matte appearance. Smooth and glossy. Underside is suede. Smooth, thin and light.
Pros & Cons

 

Pros: A favorite for its stylish look and extremely cozy feel.

Cons: Not water resistant, unless treated with a suede protector leathercare. Requires more effort to clean (we recommend a suede brush).

Pros: Naturally water resistant and easy to clean. Keeps feet warm and protected in cold, wet weather.

Cons: May cause feet to feel warm in hot climates, depending on your tolerance for heat/cold (still more breathable than most rubber or faux-leather shoes).

Pros: Lightweight, keeps feet cool and ventilated. A favorite for running in warm weather. Easy to clean.

Cons: Not water resistant... it has holes!

Use

Our suede leather is a popular choice for casual everyday shoes that look and feel fantastic! Many people use it for athletic shoes as well, though it does require extra effort to keep dry and clean.

Smooth leather provides the most protection from the elements. A popular choice for protecting feet from cold or wet weather. Also gives a classy look for dressy or formal occasions.

While naturally somewhat water resistant, smooth leather can be made more waterproof with full grain leathercare.

Great for athletes wanting to keep feet ventilated and cool. This naturally lightweight material minimizes shoe weight to maximize performance. Although it is not water resistant, the thin, airy material dries quickly and is easy to clean.

 

RUNAMOC HISTORY: 

In the fall of 2009, we noticed a sharp increase in calls from customers requesting modifications to our existing line of minimalist moccasins. We were surprised to learn that people weren't only wearing them around the house, but to run trails, marathons and even ultramarathons. With interest increasing in barefoot running, we began development of a barefoot running moccasin designed by and for runners.

Soft Star called on our online community of fans to solicit input on ideal features to design a new shoe designed specifically for runners that was light, ventilated and featured super thin and flexible running soles. Our fantastic customers submitted ideas, provided feedback on prototypes and ultimately voted on the name RunAmoc. Since the very successful launch of the Original RunAmoc, we have added the Dash and the Moc3 to the line. We hope you find these unique running shoes to be a benefit to your training routine and a treat for your feet!

 

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT TRANSITIONING TO MINIMAL RUNNING SHOES:

Making the switch from traditional shoes to minimal shoes or barefoot running/walking should be done gradually with research and advice from healthcare professionals to prevent injury. It is not recommended to begin heavy running in minimalist/barefoot shoes until your feet have adapted properly. You will probably be tempted to just take off since they are FUN and you feel like a kid in them, but you may end up injuring yourself if you plunge into full speed without proper conditioning. There is a lot of great advice in the recommended reading about transitioning to a more minimal shoe. It is worth your time to do some research and find a training plan that works for you.

Our disclaimer: please remember that we are shoemakers, not doctors. Nothing we say or write should be taken as medical advice or replace advice from a medical professional.

Moc3 Video

Although it was designed for barefoot/minimalist footwear runners, the Moc3 is so comfortable that it can cross over to everyday wear, yoga or other sports. Click  below for more background on the Moc3. We love it and hope you will, too!

Moc3 Minimal Running Shoe

Tags

Tags

Other people marked this product with these tags:

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Perfect slip onReview by Jane
Rating
These were a little roomy for me. So I ordered a pair of the sheepskin innersoles, and now they are just right. So nice to have an easy slip on shoe. They are super comfortable all around! (Posted on 9/29/14)
The Ultimate Barefoot Shoe if ...Review by Sufficient Distance
Rating
This shoe could be the ultimate barefoot running shoe if the wearer does not mind gluing them back together on a weekly basis. I was able to get about three months of consistent running on these shoes before the bottom surface started to disbond. So my Sunday evenings have become my re-glue days. I have found that German made adhesive from Continental (originally used to adhere tubular tires to bicycle rims)works well for this purpose.

Note from Soft Star Shoes: We are sorry to hear this - please give our friendly customer service elves a ring a this sounds like a warranty issue we can help you with. (Posted on 6/16/14)
For people who don't like shoesReview by Bloom
Rating
I used to despise wearing shoes, but these allow my feet to feel very natural and free. I've done many miles in Vibram five fingers and Merrell road gloves, but love that I can slip these on and off in two seconds. I feel more connected to the ground, and the Earth overall, in these shoes. I was hesitant to buy them because of the leather factor. After careful consideration, I chose to go with this shoe because they're made as greenly as possible by Elves who are well cared for. I also love that they're made in the U.S. and the customer service is outstanding. (Posted on 2/14/14)
Best Running Shoe Design in Human HistoryReview by Euthyphro
Rating
Over the past 4 years, I've tested nearly every minimal running shoe/sandal on the market. These are the best.

They allow me to go on long runs, at fast or slow speeds, in all sorts of terrain---with no sign of wear and tear on my body. They are lightweight and there is little friction or sliding upon landing.

They are the closest thing on the market to going completely barefoot, but they provide protection to the skin without causing blisters.

They constitute a truly important contribution to human culture---to our ability to thrive and to understand, first hand, the essence of movement. (Posted on 2/10/14)
they warm my heart and soleReview by Mosbey
Rating
I got these after tiring of the inevitable frequent and ultimately useless laundering of five finger shoes. I do enjoy watching my toes get froggy, but that smell is not great. The RunAmocs are a great alternative. Plenty of space for your toes, great ground feel, and they even do well in really cold weather. At first I was a bit skeptical about the look-- if a person was a nurse and a leather fetishist these would be perfect-- but they go with everything. A few months in I experienced technical difficulties and contacted Soft Star. Their response was prompt and fantastic. In fact, their willingness to work with me and assume positive intent is what caused me to come here and leave a review. Five stars for the shoes, five stars for the customer service. Would absolutely buy again and recommend. Super comfy, they stay fresh, and keep your feet, ankles and knees feeling good all day. Yay! (Posted on 2/6/14)
Great for Barefoot Runners in ColdReview by Trail Slider
Rating
Over the past three years, I've been transitioning to minimalist running and finally (this year) to barefoot running. During the spring, summer, and fall in New England, barefoot running is feasible. But once temps drop below, say, 40 degrees, the pavement is cold and the sand (put down for the cars) hurts.

This winter, I've been running in RunAmocs, typically three days a week, 3 to 5 miles at a time. Even though I don't wear socks, they work great to protect my feet from the cold and ouchies, despite single-digit temps. And yet they still offer some ground feel and don't smell at all (unlike my VFFs which smell after a couple of uses). I'm a big fan of RunAmocs! (Posted on 2/3/14)
Made the soles of my feet hurtReview by Runner/hiker/walker
Rating
I tried these shoes because I like everything about them in concept, but they made the soles of my feet hurt. I kept them for walking, but it still hurt. The bottom of my feet felt raw in a way that they never do while truly barefoot. I recently gave these shoes away. I do, however, wear the original RunAmoc daily. (Posted on 11/21/13)
Fantastic productReview by Footloose
Rating
I am a UK lifestyle barefooter. I got my moc3s several months ago for use in gyms and circuit training. They give me almost as much ground feel and balance as being barefoot. Well made and comfortable. Fast shipping to UK too! (Posted on 3/18/13)
1 year, tough to beatReview by Eric th'dread
Rating
I love my bare feet but I also love to run rough trails. Here in northern New Jersey I have some very rocky hills to run through, and these mocs are great to supply minimal protection and maximum feel. I have run in the Vibram 5fingers KSO Trek previously (for 2yrs) but after cracking my unprotected pinky toe for the 3rd time I went for the closed moc. These feel great, very light and nimble, and I started wearing them on the streets as well. After 1 year they have begun tearing in front but I really never expected them to last this long.
One modification-- I added a leather lace to keep the fit more snug under the ankle. (Posted on 2/24/13)
Gets the barefoot runner through the winterReview by John
Rating
Late last summer I started the process of weaning my feet off their comfy Nike Pegasus pillow-shoes. My goal was to gradually change my running form so that I could run consistently in minimal shoes. I got a pair of Altra Instincts (which I really like), and started alternating them with the Nikes. I did some barefoot running drills to improve my form, and then a bit more, and gradually I realized that barefoot running was more comfortable and enjoyable, so that became my goal. That was in mid November, brilliantly timed to coincide with the looming winter solstice. I've run up to a mile in 30F weather barefoot, but it's not so fun when you can't feel your feet. I got the RunAmoc3 in late November, and it's become my go-to running shoe. They seem to run a bit small, so I had to go with a 13 (I wear a 12 Nike Pegasus and 12.5 Altra Instinct). I wear them with socks when it's below 25F and they keep my feet plenty warm. I've tried huaraches, but I find the RunAmocs are more comfortable and have a thinner sole that provides better feedback from the ground. They look a bit like Darth Vader's bedroom slippers, but don't let that stop you from getting a pair--they feel awesome when you're running. They slip on easily, they pack as flat as a pair of socks for travel, and they have reflector bands on the heels so you won't get run over when running in the frigid pre-dawn--which is important because you'll want to run in the dark cold pre-dawn days of late winter with these shoes. If you're new to minimalist running, ease into RunAmocs gradually--it's taken me several months to get to the point of running four miles a day in them, and that included several weeks of rotating them with my Altras. But it's totally worth it, and these are the best thing going next to going barefoot. (Posted on 2/10/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Adult Moc3 RunAmoc - Black

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating